You’re offended? I don’t care.

I decided get out of my comfort zone and watch a stand-up that I normally wouldn’t watch. I mean, I guess that is kind of the whole point of this blog.

The stand up I decided to watch was Louis C.K’s “Chewed Up” back from 2008. The whole point of this blog is for me to watch them and see how the comedian interacts with social commentary and present day situations. 2008 was eight years ago so times have changed a little but it didn’t take more than a minute in of this stand up for me to find something to talk about.

The first seven minutes of his routine, which you can watch here, was him talking about 3 words that most people don’t like to say in front of other people or to other people or at all because other people might take it the wrong way. It’s a touchy subject depending on how you look at it but at the same time, are we being too sensitive.

C.K speaks about these words like they are nothing. Which in some respect, they are nothing. They are just words. In some way or another and at some point in time, they were used to make fun or joke about another person whether the word relates to that person or not.

Faggot was the first word that was brought up in this segment of his stand-up. Already, it had a sour taste in my mouth. I personally don’t like that word, along with many other words, especially when people don’t use them in the right context. It “grinds my gears” so to speak. So, immediately, I was put off.

Honestly, I don’t know why. I don’t know why words like faggot, retarded, or even gay make me upset when they aren’t aimed towards me. I guess I feel bad the those who are indirectly being affected by those terms.

C.K. mentions in his stand-up that he would never call a person who is gay a “faggot” to his face, unless he said something “faggy”. I’m sorry… but what does that even mean? What does someone have to do or say that constitutes as “faggy”? (By the way, it’s not even a word so that makes me upset too.) One person’s definition of this term could mean something completely different to another.

My point with this stand-up act is what I am trying to show throughout this semester with these blog posts. Is this what people have trouble with when it comes to stand-up? Because I might find this offensive, is that the fault of the comedian, or the fault of the person listening because they are “over sensitive”? Comedy is supposed to push limits and reach the point of people being uncomfortable.

And because I was uncomfortable, they did their job.

Leave a Reply

