No offense, but I meant to offend you

You know that feeling you get when you’re laughing so hard that you’re crying, doubled over in pain, and can barely breath? That is what every comedian aspires their audience to look like when telling a joke.

Comedy is probably one of the hardest things to break in to. It’s easy to make someone cry or feel sad, but comedy is the real art. With countless stand-ups on Netflix, it’s crazy to think that this job would be hard, that anyone can do it. And I believe that anyone can. You just have to know your boundaries and then cross over them.

I read an article called, “When the Truth Hurts, Tell a Joke: Why America Needs Comedians”.  Within this article, it speaks about the job of a comedian: to make their audience laugh with jokes that may or may not offend some people. In a comedian’s case, “no offense” means, “I really don’t care as long as the people around you thought it was funny.”

There are some comedians that choose not to say outlandish things. Jerry Seinfeld is one of my mom’s favorites because he chooses not to use words that will cause her to have an aneurysm. However, comedians are getting tired of going to college campuses because students today take some things too seriously and tends to make people upset. So, comedians like Jerry Seinfeld and Chris Rock choose not go to locations like college campuses because their audience can’t, “take a joke”.

I find this very interesting. What makes a comedian so great? What do they have to say to make and audience laugh? The one concern that is not on their mind is whether or not you were offended. Because whether you laughed because you were uncomfortable or you laughed because it was funny, to a comedian, a laugh is a laugh, so they count that as a success.

After much deliberation, I’ve decided to dedicate my blog to the discussion of comedians and their stand-ups and how they relate to audience interactions. I want to immerse myself into my favorite comedians but also the ones that I don’t like as much and ask myself, “Why don’t I like their jokes? Is it because I’m offended?” Well, if that’s the case, they are already doing their job.

Leave a Reply

